mybeardeddragons.co.uk

Discussion and Advice Forum for Bearded Dragon Lovers
It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:28 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Newbie
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:33 pm 
EGG
EGG

Hi my name is Rachel and i'm from West Yorkshire, have a 3 year old BD who i acquired from a friend of a friend, so unfortunately i don't know very much about him. I'm also new to keeping reptiles and would be interested in any feedback from fellow forum users :D My beardie (Alan) won't eat veg or anything really other than live food, (he did have a small amount of apple and grape the other day) I am right in understanding that adults should be eating 70-80% vegetation to 20-30% live food? can you get them that just prefer the insects? - He is also very quite and hides under the basking shelf alot could he be brumating?

He came in a rather old rickety tank and i wasn't sure the lighting and heating were working correctly or even correct equipment !! so i have now bought the correct "kit" and hoping he will be happier

:roll: :roll:

Many thanks in advance for any advice xxxx

Post subject: Re: Newbie
PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:48 pm 
EXPERT
EXPERT

Hi and welcome.

Let's start with the set up you have - sometimes just a few teaks of that will liven these guys up. So if you can tell us what you have, size of viv, type of lighting/heating, sub strate, temps basking and cool side, we'll see if we can help. QA photo of the viv would also help.

Rick

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:40 am 
FIRST JOB
FIRST JOB

Mine rarely eats Veg and never has done. He occasionally nibbles but the only thing he ever gobbles are dandelion flowers. I feed him live food twice a week and believe me he isn't fading away :)

You can try withholding live food but at his age it is doubtful you will change his habits

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:43 am 
EGG
EGG